Cream of the Crop.

There are friends, there are best friends, and then there are best friends. This weekend, I went up to the Big Apple to spend a weekend with my italicized two. It was a much needed breather from life as I know it, as spending time with Olivia and Heather is like a refresher course in what it means to be me.  And whether dining at Dos Caminos or standing in line for about an hour–twice–at TKTS, I enjoyed every.last.minute of my time.

These two ladies do not fall into the italics category because Heather knows what I looked like in a plaid stirrup pant ensemble, and Olivia could tell you what I wore on the first day of Freshman year. While knowing people throughout most of your life certainly can bring you closer to people, it goes a whole lot deeper than that.  I am my best and most authentic self around them. I know, with certainty, that I can be 110% me, flaws and fabulousness, in all my glory. We are critically kind of each other’s personality quirks, while simultaneously laying out every last reason why we are all remarkable women. We’ve been through high-school drama, family drama, boyfriends and lack thereof, a wedding, and a baby, and everywhere in between with so many of life’s challenges and joys still ahead.  

We each reside at different spots on life’s path, but it makes no difference. We see each other far less than any of us would prefer, but it makes no difference. I know for certain these are italic besties ’til the end. They have listened to me whine for nearly 20 years and still love me anyway–those aren’t people you let go easily. My respective relationship with each of them has gone through changes and little bumps along the way, but we’ve always just worked past, through, over, and above them and come out better friends on the other side.

I am who I am in part because of these two amazing women, and I know that not everyone in this world gets lucky enough to have even one friend of this magnitude. There are a lot of things I know I take for granted in my life, but these friendships I do not.  So, Heath, here is your blog shout-out! All my love and thanks to my longest friend and my forever friend for being exactly who you both are. And for allowing me to be me.

Song du jour: “Last of Days,” A Fine Frenzy

One thought on “Cream of the Crop.

  1. Holy shout-out, dude!! I had sooo much fun this weekend! And I totally needed the time away – I came home to a sassy toddler whose molars are coming in. I swear, she’s been screaming for four days straight! Loved the plaid stirrups comment – I remember being so excited to accidentally have purchased the same flowered pants as you in fourth grade. Haha. Oh, and by the way, I have been listening to you whine for over 23 years now! And I wouldn’t have it any other way – you are the best, longest friend! Love you!

Leave a Reply

