Just Ducky.

 

It is time to talk about the ducks. The ducks being the duck theory of life that my dear friend Foggers and I concocted years ago,  most likely while I was relaxing cross-legged on the floor of her cube at Chubb Insurance. At this point we were both well past the point of having any fear of higher Chubb authority.

The duck theory goes like this.  In life, we each have about five ducks representing key areas of importance in our lives. The five ducks are: health, career, love, family/friends, location. The goal, the Holy Grail of life, you might say,  is to get all of these ducks upright and, alas, “in a row”…now here’s the hook :at the SAME TIME.

Over the years and miles apart, we’ve always checked in on each other’s duck situation. And I think we were both somewhat convinced that having a full pond of upright ducks was a near impossibility. Got a great new job? Terrific, but you’re boyfriend is about to dump you! You see how it might go. Not having all your ducks in a row by no means means life sucks. It could, but most of the time, the upright ducks are enough to keep you paddling along pretty contently. For example, at the present, my love duck is confused and sinking and my career duck is sucking mud at the bottom of the pond, but my other three ducks are going along swimmingly, boastful and proud, and that’s enough to hold onto for me. Those other ducks will someday find their way to the surface, eventually.

I explained this theory, albeit using Swedish fish and after a bottle of wine, to some friends over dinner one night. Wouldn’t you know it, at that time my friend had all of his ducks in a row. Incredible. I think I texted Fogs that night to spread the shocking news. A person with all ducks aligned and upright–who was the foreign creature and how did he crack the code!? We thought perhaps this was a flash in the pan, never to be seen again. But, I’ve got news.

Last night, during a lovely catch-up with my fellow duck theorist as we were going through the exciting new events in her life–promotion from a lousy position and  moving in with her boyfriend–(we realized that at this present moment, all of her ducks are in a row. This is me whispering so as not to jinx it). WOOHOOOOO!

So it can happen. It does happen. And because it happened to her, a fellow duck hunter for years, I know it can happen to me, and for you, too.  Some ducks you have more control over than others, but just know that having them all up is a  special occurance and a time to be treasured.  If you should find yourself in such lucky duck waters, appreciate every moment seeing all their beaks smiling proudly and give a little victory quack.

9 thoughts on “Just Ducky.

  1. Love love love your blog. Your voice is crystal clear and it’s like listening to a story told by an old friend-very cozy and comfortable. Keep on keepin’ on!

    • Thanks, Katie! Admittedly, after tossing around the idea of starting a blog for a while, following yours was the final kick in the bum I needed to get started!

  2. Pingback: Rando. « La Marche

Leave a Reply

